Now Reading
CSIR Announces Awardees of Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for 2020

CSIR Announces Awardees of Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for 2020

New Delhi: The scientific community has risen to every challenge facing the country and converted it into an opportunity, Science and Technology Minister Harsh Vardhan said on Saturday.

Addressing the 79th CSIR Foundation Day, Vardhan said during the coronavirus pandemic, scientists of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) contributed towards making ventilators and personal protection (Personal Protection Equipment) kits to genome sequencing.

The CSIR also initiated projects like the repurposing of drugs for COVID-19.

CSIR director-general Shekhar Mande said Australia and the Netherlands have also shown interest in the COVID-19 technologies developed by the CSIR.

Vardhan also asked the CSIR to organise a brainstorming session of young scientists to assess how the country can achieve ”Aatmanirbharta” (self-reliance).

“Whenever there has been a challenge of any form before the country, we have always been able to convert it into an opportunity and they (scientists) ultimately deliver good for the society and help in alleviating hardships in many ways,” Vardhan said.

“Whenever any responsibility is given to CSIR, they go ahead in a very dynamic way,” Vardhan said, citing an instance where he had proposed use of green crackers on Diwali as an alternative to traditional firecrackers to address the problem of pollution.

On the ongoing pandemic, Vardhan, who is also the health minister, said the fight against coronavirus started on January 8, in a day or two of the news about the cases in China being delivered by the World Health Organisation.

Also read: CSIR Announces Winners of S.S. Bhatnagar Prize for 2017

Since then, apart from the health ministry, the scientific community of India has been serving the cause of mitigation of COVID-19 in the best possible manner.

He said until Friday, India conducted 15 lakh tests in a day, stressing that when the pandemic began, only a few thousand tests were being conducted. Â

“We rose to the occasion in a responsible and committed manner. Nobody thought about the mandate every laboratory got… whether working in the field of genomics or aeronautical, chemicals or biology. Everybody was trying to contribute something or the other,” Vardhan noted.Â

The CSIR has nearly 40 laboratories and institutes working on niche subjects ranging from genomics to aeronautics, from leather to metallurgy.

The CSIR also declared the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Awards on the occasion.

In the area of Biological Sciences, the coveted award has been bagged by Subhadeep Chatterjee from the Centre for DNA Fingerprinting and Diagnostics, Hyderabad and Vatsala Thirumalai from the National Centre for Biological Sciences.

Jyotirmayee Dash, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata and Subi Jacob George, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru have bagged the award in the area of Chemical Sciences.

In the area of Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences, Abhijit Mukherjee from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur and Suryendu Dutta from IIT, Bombay have bagged the coveted prize.

In the field of Engineering Sciences, Amol Arvindrao Kulkarni from the CSIR”s National Chemical Laboratory, Pune and Kinshuk Dasgupta from the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai have bagged the award.

Also read: Doctors With(out) Borders: How Partition Affected Scientists in India and Pakistan

Rajat Subhra Hazra from the Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata and U K Anandavardhanan from Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay have awarded the prize in the area of Mathematical Sciences, while Bushra Ateeq from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur and Ritesh Agarwal from the Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education and Research, Chandigarh were awarded in the area of Medical Sciences.

In the field of Physical Sciences, Rajesh Ganapathy from the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru and Surajit Dhara from the University of Hyderabad have been conferred with the award.

The prestigious CSIR Diamond Jubilee Technology Award for the year 2019 has been conferred on Tata Chemicals Limited (TCL), Pune, a statement said.

The CSIR said Avra Laboratories, a leading pharmaceutical company on Saturday announced that it would establish three research chairs at CSIR to support and recognise exemplary work in the field of translational research.

The chairs will provide a three-year fellowship to selected scientists to recognize and advance their efforts, the statement added.

S Chandrasekhar, director, CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Technology and Amol A Kulkarni, senior principal scientist, CSIR-National Chemical Laboratory have been awarded the fellowship for the period 2020-2023.

Scroll To Top